Texas Science Education Leadership Association

Outstanding Leadership in Science Education Award

Sponsored by Chevron

The Outstanding Leadership In Science Education Award presented by Chevron recognizes outstanding support of science education at the district or state level by a non-teaching administrator in Early Childhood through Grade 12. :

    • STAT membership
    • Evidence of efforts to advance science education as demonstrated on application form
    • Resume / curriculum vitae
    • Letter of recommendation from a principal, vice principal, area superintendent, colleague, former student or parents of former students

Application Process

Deadline:  Coming Soon 


Any member is invited to nominate a worthy colleague.  Both nominator and nominee must be TSELA members in good standing. Nominee must also be an NSELA member in good standing. Current TSELA officers are not eligible for the award.


  • Complete and submit nomination form
  • Current resume or curriculum vitae (see nomination form for specific information needed)
  • Description of contributions to science leadership (500 word limit)
  • Letters of support (3-5)

Note: This award is given at the Award Committee and Officers discretion and may not be awarded yearly.

Past Award Winners

 2018 Jason Baughman
2016 Laura Holt
2015 Sharon Delesbore
2014 No Award
 2013 Jan Wilson
2012 Vanessa Westbrook
2011 Sandra West
2010 Terry Tally
2009 Kevin Fisher 
2008 Carolyn Schroeder
2007 Joel Palmer 
2006 Georgia Beatey
2005 Bill Neal
2004 Kenn Heydrick

Vernier Emerging Science Education Leader Scholarship (VESELS)

NSELA and Vernier Software and Technology are celebrating their second year sponsoring the Vernier Emerging Science Education Leader Scholarship (VESELS). This ongoing partnership supports six $500.00 scholarships for emerging leaders, one from each of the six NSELA Regions, to attend the annual NSELA Summer Leadership Institute (SLI) from July 9 – July 11, 2018 in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. The Emerging Science Education Leader Scholarship was founded with support from Dr. Jo Anne Vasquez who started the scholarship fund in 2014. The partners also celebrate the past year’s awardees: Sarah Adumat, Anissa Angier, Alfonso Garcia Arriola, Heather Moll, Amy Murphy, and Joseph Simmons. 

Award Criteria and Application Process:
The following criteria must be met to apply for the scholarship. Does not need to be a member of NSELA prior to the application. When a candidate applies, must become a member of NSELA.
  • Emerging leader role at the school, district, state or informal level for three years or less. The three-year limit is specific to the leadership role and work for which the candidate is being nominated. Previous leadership roles that are very different are not counted in the three years.
  • Submission of an application packet that includes: resume or vita, personal letter with evidence that illustrates emerging leadership, and a support letter from a supervisor.
  • Agree to work with an NSELA mentor through June 2019. During the SLI, all scholarship awardees will have meetings with the mentor and share how they will apply SLI learning to their work settings. After six months, awardees will reflect on how they are applying their SLI experience in the Navigator newsletter and online with other scholarship awardees and the mentor.

2018 application deadline: April 16, 2018

If you have questions or would like to contribute to the scholarship fund, contact Nancy Kellogg, Awards Chair.


Copyright TSELA 2017 unless copyright is otherwise previously held.
"TSELA" is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization. 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software